Wednesday 16 April 2014

National Conference Names Composition of 20 Standing Committees

National Conference Names Composition of 20 Standing Committees


The leadership of the National Conference on Tuesday, 15th April, 2014 announced the composition of 20 Standing Committees to facilitate the assignment of the Conference for the remaining period it would sit.

The National Conference was inaugurated on March 17 by President Goodluck Ebele Jonathan and is expected to last till June, 2014.

The list of the Standing Committees and their members was distributed to the delegates at the plenary session.

However, the Conference did not name the leadership of the committees. A source told reporters that the leadership of the committees will be announced during Wednesday’s plenary session, which begins at 4 p.m.

Many of the delegates did not get the list as the Chairman of the Conference, Idris Kutigi, announced with apologies that the machines printing the document broke down. He assured them that they would be given their copies on Wednesday.

The Committees are Devolution of Powers; Political Restructuring and Forms of Government; National Security; Environment; Politics and Governance; Law, Judiciary; Human Rights and Legal Reform; Social Welfare; and Transportation.

Others are Science, Technology and Development; Agriculture; Civil Society, Labour and Sports; Public Service; Electoral Matters; Foreign Policy and Diaspora Matters; Land Tenure Matters and National Boundary; Trade and Investment; Energy; Religion; Public Finance and Revenue Generation; and Immigration and Related Matters.

All the committees except three have 24 members each. The Committees on Devolution of Powers and Political Restructuring, and Forms of Government have 28 members each while that on Religion has 18 members.

Prominent members of the committee on devolution are an elder statesman from the South West geo-political zone, Ayo Adebanjo; former National Chairman of the Peoples Democratic Party, PDP, Ahmadu Ali; former Petroleum Minister, Jubril Aminu; former National Chairman of the defunct National Advance Party, NAP, Tunji Braithwaite; former Deputy Senate President, Ibrahim Mantu; former Senate President, Ken Nnamani; former Health Minister, Alphonsus Nwosu; and a former Senator, Gbemisola Saraki.

Some members of the Committee on Political Restructuring and Forms of Government are a clergyman Tunde Bakare; former Ebonyi State Governor, Sam Egwu; Tokunbo Awolowo-Dosunmu; former Secretary to the Government of the Federation, Olu Falae; President of Ohanaeze Ndigbo, Gary Igariwey; former Rivers State Governor, Peter Odili; former Niger State Governor, Abdulkadir Kure; ThisDay publisher, Nduka Obaigbena; and former governor of Akwa Ibom State, Ndongesit Nkanga; and former governor of Plateau State, Fidelis Tapgun.

The leader of the Odua Peoples Congress, Gani Adams; former FCT Minister, Jerry Useni; former governor of the old Cross River State, Paul Omu; and Zamani Lekwot are some of the prominent members of the Committee of National Security.

In the Committee on Politics and Governance are former Senate President, Adolphus Wabara; former senators, Femi Okurounmu’ and Florence Ita-Giwa; former Speaker of the House of Representatives, Ghali Umar Na’Abba; former Environment Minister, Hassan Adamu; former Information Minister, Jerry Gana; legal luminary, Mike Ahamba; Onyema Ugochukwu; and Ray Ekpu.

Among the members of the Committee on Law, Judiciary, Human Rights and Legal Reforms are former NBA President, Olisa Agbakoba; former deputy governor of Lagos State, Kofoworola Akerele-Bucknor, Femi Falana; former Justice Minister, Bayo Ojo; former Legal Adviser to Sani Abacha, Auwalu Yadudu; and Mike Ozekhome.

In the Committee on Political Parties and Electoral Matters are former Ogun State Governor, Olusegun Osoba; former Senate President, Iyorchia Ayu; former President of Ijaw National Congress, Kimse Okoko; former NUJ President, Sani Zoro; and former Imo State Governor, Achike Udenwa.

Some members of the Committee on Energy are former Justice Minister, Richard Akinjide; former Oyo State Governor, Rasheed Ladoja; former Minister of State for Petroleum, Edmund Daukoru; former senators, Yisa Braimoh, Femi Kila and John Brambaifa; and former governor of the old Anambra State, Jim Nwobodo.

The former Governor of Bayelsa State, Diepreye Alamieyeseigha; former Kaduna State Governor, Tanko Ayuba; a former senator, Azu Agboti; and Sergeant Awuse are the prominent members of the Committee on Public Finance and Revenue.

However, delegates could not comment on the list as a result of debate on the abduction of over 200 female students of Government Girls Secondary School, Chibok in Borno State on Monday night in by Boko Haram insurgents.

No comments:

Post a Comment